How can we help?

MTConnect Constants and Variables

You are here:
< All Topics

Overview

MTConnect variables are used to hold data retrieved from MTConnect enabled devices. Variables must exist in DataXchange and then be mapped to MTConnect items within the device.

MTConnect Source Variables

DataXchange is shipped with the following variables predefined:

 Variable NameNotes
Alarm Code [MTC.alarm_code]Returns the alarm code without the description More Information
Alarm Detail [MTC.alarm_detail]Returns the alarm description
Alarm Status [MTC.alarm_status]Returns whether or not the equipment is in an alarm
Capture MTC Alarms [MTC.alarms]Used to capture all MTC alarms including those that go off simultaneously
Connect Time [MTC.connect_time]Returns the time of the most recent connection to the MTConnect Source
Connected Time [MTC.connected_time]Returns the amount of time in seconds since a successful connection to the Source.
Cycle Status [MTC.cycle_status]Return the cycle status. ACTIVE = Cycling
Feed Rate Override [MTC.feedrate_override]Returns the override of the selected axis
Part Count [MTC.part_count]Returns the value of the part counter on the control
Part Number [MTC.part_number]{??}Returns a string from a comment within the NC program  More Information
Program Number [MTC.program_number]Returns the active program number from the control
Spindle Load [MTC.spindle_load]Returns the load of the selected spindle
Spindle Override [MTC.spindle_override]Returns the override of the selected spindle
Spindle Speed [MTC.spindle_speed]Returns the speed of the selected spindle

The following variables hold the value for the previous poll from the Control.

 Variable NameSyntax
Alarm Status (Previous)[MTC.prev_alarm_code]
Connect Time (Previous)[MTC.prev_connect_time]
Connected Time (Previous)[MTC.prev_connected_time]
Cycle Status (Previous)[MTC.prev_cycle_status]
Feed Rate Override (Previous)[MTC.prev_feedrate_override]
Part Count (Previous)[MTC.prev_part_count]
Program Number (Previous)[MTC.prev_program_number]
Spindle Load (Previous)[MTC.prev_spindle_load]
Spindle Override (Previous)[MTC.prev_spindle_override]
Spindle Speed (Previous)[MTC.prev_spindle_speed]
Custom Variable (Previous)[MTC.prev_CustomVariableName]

MTConnect Constants

 Constant NameSyntax
CYCLING[MTC.CYCLING]

MTConnect Custom Variables 

DataXchange has the ability to create custom variables for the MTConnect source.  Use this feature to create a custom mapping to a data variable that the MTConnect machine may not map to by default.

 Variable NameNotes
Custom Variable[MTC.CustomVariableName]Returns the data from the custom mapping variable

The following variables hold the value for the previous poll from the Control.

 Variable NameSyntax
Custom Variable (Previous)[MTC.prev_CustomVariableName]

Additional variables can be added to the system by defining them in the Expression Builder. 

Select Expressions, then select the Create Expressions menu item.

From the MTConnect button in the ribbon bar, select the Define Custom Variables menu item.

Once the variables have been defined they need to be mapped to MTConnect data items.  The mapping is done at an individual equipment level since this may vary from equipment to equipment.

Table of Contents